~ and the race is on!

haiku for today:

eye of hurricane

swirls to and fro, spirals up

out-down-in! Huzzah!

~ ~ ~

The madhouse and mayhem of EVOs (Electronic Village Online) five-week free workshops has begun — it is officially Jan. 9th in some parts of the world!

What are these workshops, you might ask?

For five weeks in January-February, participants and ESOL experts can engage in collaborative, online discussion or hands-on virtual workshops of professional and scholarly benefit. These sessions will bring together participants for a longer period of time than is permitted by the land-based convention and will allow a fuller development of ideas than is otherwise possible.
 Sessions are free and open to anyone around the globe. Bring your colleagues!
http://evosessions.pbworks.com/w/page/48510148/Call_for_Participation2012

Sessions I’m involved in:

EVO_Drama_2012   Co-moderator

BAW  Participant, primarily a lurker, repeating the session because each year there is such energy, AND new things to learn!

Tutoring With Web 2.0 Tools   Hopeful participant, but also ‘newbie mentor’ for this group — thankfully the moderators of this group are wonderfully efficient, professional, prepared! (This means, I hope, that I will have very little ‘work’ to do, and much to glean and enjoy learning!)

~ ~ ~

The first days are always a bit insane, but incredibly fun (at least to / for me)!

As an example of some of the ‘fun’ for me: I’m reading through Week 1 introductions where folks are sharing tools they use, and although I am familiar with many that are being shared, I learned about this one:

http://www.futureme.org/  which looks like fun!

I usually try to keep my Yahoo Group settings to receive individual emails, but I think I may have to resort to daily digest this year… 50+ messages per hour is a bit too many!

I’ll close with a happy thought:  The weather here has been positively balmy, with spring jasmine blooming, daffodils thrusting their way up, birds chirping madly, and more!

Your reactions, questions, suggestions welcome ~

