backyard birds

haiku for today:

crisp emerald moss,

scarlet nandina sprigs = hints:

southern holiday!

~ ~ ~

Are you a birdwatcher?  I find watching nuthatches, the tufted titmouse (do we say titmice?), chickadees, Carolina wrens, goldfinches, downey & red-bellied & pileated woodpeckers, and other frequent visitors to our yard quite wonderful.

Of course, friendly squirrel shenanigans are entertaining, too.

As I grow older I find I enjoy birdwatching more and more.

http://animals.nationalgeographic.com/animals/backyard-birds-quiz/

Did you know that woodpeckers sometimes peck up to 12, 000 times per day?!!

[This site says they can!]

Trying to find some interesting sites and info, I found this fantastic site from the National Bird Feeding Society:

http://www.birdfeeding.org/bird-identifier/east/

I find myself wondering how many young children pay attention to birds these days?

Maybe I’ll try and interest our neighbor’s children into birdwatching with me?

Your reactions, questions, suggestions welcome ~

